Schools in Manila
- Schools
- 283
- 105 public, 176 private, 2 SUCs and LUCs
- Community learning centres
- 132
- Learners
- 376,370
- Teachers
- 11,020
- Classrooms
- 6,249
Boundaries changed between school years, so no change is shown.
Learners
SY 2024-25: 376,370 learners, 367,119 in schools and 9,251 in community learning centres.
| Learners | Number |
|---|---|
| All learners | 376,370 |
| In schools | 367,119 |
| In community learning centres (ALS) | 9,251 |
| Male | 189,984 |
| Female | 185,673 |
| Not broken down by sex | 713 |
| Level | Public schools | Private schools | SUCs and LUCs | Community learning centres (ALS) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 159,136 | 25,626 | 191 | 0 | 184,953 |
| Junior High School | 80,350 | 24,523 | 565 | 0 | 105,438 |
| Senior High School | 13,267 | 62,603 | 195 | 0 | 76,065 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 0 | 0 | 0 | 266 | 266 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2,311 | 2,311 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6,624 | 6,624 |
| Grade | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 11,659 | 11,078 | 22,737 |
| Grade 1 | 13,707 | 12,736 | 26,443 |
| Grade 2 | 13,932 | 13,197 | 27,129 |
| Grade 3 | 14,192 | 13,445 | 27,637 |
| Grade 4 | 13,298 | 12,747 | 26,045 |
| Grade 5 | 12,793 | 12,206 | 24,999 |
| Grade 6 | 13,990 | 13,234 | 27,224 |
| Grade 7 | 13,514 | 13,274 | 26,788 |
| Grade 8 | 12,633 | 12,573 | 25,206 |
| Grade 9 | 13,069 | 13,398 | 26,467 |
| Grade 10 | 13,156 | 13,812 | 26,968 |
| Grade 11 | 18,428 | 19,930 | 38,358 |
| Grade 12 | 17,905 | 19,802 | 37,707 |
| Special needs, non-graded (elementary) | 1,964 | 775 | 2,739 |
| Special needs, non-graded (junior high) | 7 | 2 | 9 |
| ALS Basic Literacy Program | 192 | 74 | 266 |
| ALS A&E elementary | 1,535 | 776 | 2,311 |
| ALS A&E secondary | 4,010 | 2,614 | 6,624 |
| Broken down by grade | 189,984 | 185,673 | 375,657 |
| Track | Learners |
|---|---|
| Academic | 61,443 |
| Technical-Vocational-Livelihood | 13,114 |
| Arts and Design | 1,224 |
| Sports | 601 |
| All tracks | 76,382 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 18 | 15 | 33 |
| Elementary | 1,113 | 940 | 2,053 |
| Junior High School | 1 | 5 | 6 |
| All | 1,132 | 960 | 2,092 |
| Level | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 2 | 2 | 4 |
| Elementary | 63 | 58 | 121 |
| Junior High School | 37 | 63 | 100 |
| Senior High School | 39 | 79 | 118 |
| All | 141 | 202 | 343 |
| Program | Male | Female | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enhanced-Instructional Management by Parents, Community and teachers | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Modified In-School Off-School Approach | 4 | 0 | 4 |
| Open High School Program | 26 | 16 | 42 |
| Other School-Initiated Intervention | 9 | 15 | 24 |
| All | 40 | 31 | 71 |
Schools and community learning centres
SY 2024-25: 283 schools and 132 community learning centres.
| Sector | Number |
|---|---|
| Public schools | 105 |
| Private schools | 176 |
| SUCs and LUCs | 2 |
| Community learning centres (ALS) | 132 |
| All | 415 |
| Offering | Number |
|---|---|
| Elementary only | 135 |
| Elementary and junior high (K to 10) | 26 |
| Kindergarten to Grade 12 | 56 |
| Junior high only | 9 |
| Junior and senior high | 35 |
| Senior high only | 22 |
| Community learning centres (ALS) | 132 |
| Subclassification | Number |
|---|---|
| Community learning centres (ALS) | 132 |
| Non-sectarian | 129 |
| DepEd managed | 105 |
| Sectarian | 47 |
| State universities and colleges | 2 |
DepEd's public report has staff and facilities data for public schools only.
School personnel
SY 2024-25: 11,020 teachers and 1,192 non-teaching personnel in public schools.
| Type | Number |
|---|---|
| Teachers | 11,020 |
| Non-teaching personnel | 1,192 |
| All personnel | 12,212 |
| Level | Teachers |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 5,858 |
| Junior High School | 4,701 |
| Senior High School | 461 |
| All teachers | 11,020 |
| Level | Learners per teacher |
|---|---|
| Elementary | 27.2 |
| Junior High School | 17.1 |
| Senior High School | 28.8 |
School resources
SY 2024-25: 6,249 classrooms and 6,056 toilets in public schools.
- Classrooms
- 6,249
- Seats (approximate)
- 203,641
- Toilets
- 6,056
- Functional computers
- 50,498
- Faucets
- 10,476
- 9,188 with water
| Measure | Elementary | Junior High School | Senior High School |
|---|---|---|---|
| Classrooms | 4,050 | 1,830 | 369 |
| Learners per classroom | 39.3 | 43.9 | 36.0 |
| Seats (approximate) | 131,182 | 60,072 | 12,387 |
| Learners per seat | 1.2 | 1.3 | 1.1 |
| Toilets | 4,112 | 1,572 | 372 |
| Learners per toilet | 38.7 | 51.1 | 35.7 |
| Functional computers | 26,674 | 21,721 | 2,103 |
| Learners per computer | 6.0 | 3.7 | 6.3 |
| Level | With water supply | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 74 | 0 |
| Junior High School | 33 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 26 | 0 |
| Level | Grid supply | Grid and off-grid supply |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 65 | 9 |
| Junior High School | 30 | 3 |
| Senior High School | 26 | 0 |
| Level | With internet access | Without |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 73 | 1 |
| Junior High School | 33 | 0 |
| Senior High School | 26 | 0 |
| Type | Toilets |
|---|---|
| Female | 2,903 |
| Male | 2,052 |
| Shared | 827 |
| For persons with disabilities | 274 |
| All toilets | 6,056 |
| Faucets | Number |
|---|---|
| With water | 9,188 |
| Without water | 1,288 |
| All faucets | 10,476 |
| Facility | Schools |
|---|---|
| Entrance Gate | 104 |
| Exit Gate | 104 |
| Permanent Perimeter Fence | 100 |
| Offices | 99 |
| Canteen | 97 |
| Clinic | 96 |
| Supply Room | 95 |
| Library/Learning Resource Center | 91 |
| School Garden | 89 |
| Computer Room | 83 |
| Covered Court | 76 |
| Conference Room | 71 |
| Home Economic Room | 67 |
| Data File Room/Records Room | 64 |
| Faculty Room | 53 |
| Industrial Arts Room | 43 |
| Paved Pathway | 43 |
| Science Laboratory | 37 |
| Solar Panel | 36 |
| Roofing | 32 |
| Playground | 25 |
| Gymnasium | 19 |
| Flood Marker | 17 |
| Student Co-Curricular Center | 16 |
| Speech Laboratory | 10 |
| Temporary Perimeter Fence | 10 |
| Museum | 8 |
| Bike Rack | 3 |
| Youth Development Center | 3 |
Cities and municipalities
14 cities and municipalities, each with its SY 2024-25 schools and learners in every sector.
| Name | Schools | Learners | Teachers (public) | Learners per teacher (public) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Binondo | 3 | 37 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Ermita | 9 | 10,646 | 380 | 17.0 |
| Intramuros | 3 | 4,244 | 116 | 13.6 |
| Malate | 17 | 22,199 | 278 | 26.5 |
| Paco | 12 | 18,918 | 618 | 22.8 |
| Pandacan | 11 | 7,457 | 243 | 26.5 |
| Port Area | 3 | 13,770 | 450 | 29.6 |
| Quiapo | 10 | 13,327 | 244 | 21.6 |
| Sampaloc | 74 | 72,629 | 1,883 | 20.0 |
| San Miguel | 9 | 19,742 | 307 | 19.0 |
| San Nicolas | 5 | 11,784 | 430 | 25.6 |
| Santa Ana | 28 | 26,033 | 838 | 21.6 |
| Santa Cruz | 20 | 30,398 | 996 | 25.2 |
| Tondo | 79 | 125,186 | 4,237 | 23.8 |
About this data
- 713 learners in SY 2024-25 are counted in the totals but not broken down by grade, level or sex, so those charts show at least these numbers.
- Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.
Each school year's figures for Manila count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25, refreshed 25 October 2025. How the data was checked