Skip to content

Schools in Jolo (Capital), Sulu

SY 2024-25 data from DepEd, refreshed 25 October 2025

Schools
44
No change from SY 2023-24
33 public, 8 private, 3 SUCs and LUCs
Community learning centres
5
Up 1 from SY 2023-24
Learners
40,024
Down 117 from SY 2023-24
Teachers
805
Down 41 from SY 2023-24
Classrooms
398
Down 22 from SY 2023-24

Learners

SY 2024-25: 40,024 learners, 39,595 in schools and 429 in community learning centres.

Learners, SY 2024-25
LearnersNumber
All learners40,024
In schools39,595
In community learning centres (ALS)429
Male19,200
Female20,824
Learners by level and sector, SY 2024-25Public schoolsPrivate schoolsSUCs and LUCsCommunity learning centres (ALS)Elementary19,889 totalJunior High School12,462 totalSenior High School7,244 totalALS Basic Literacy Program31 totalALS A&E elementary41 totalALS A&E secondary357 total
Learners by level and sector, SY 2024-25
Learners by level and sector, SY 2024-25
LevelPublic schoolsPrivate schoolsSUCs and LUCsCommunity learning centres (ALS)Total
Elementary18,8241,0650019,889
Junior High School6,7603,2002,502012,462
Senior High School6834,9441,61707,244
ALS Basic Literacy Program0003131
ALS A&E elementary0004141
ALS A&E secondary000357357
Learners by grade and sex, SY 2024-25MaleFemaleKindergarten2,296 totalGrade 12,970 totalGrade 23,097 totalGrade 33,032 totalGrade 42,843 totalGrade 52,732 totalGrade 62,822 totalGrade 73,281 totalGrade 83,340 totalGrade 92,994 totalGrade 102,847 totalGrade 113,636 totalGrade 123,608 totalSpecial needs, non-graded(elementary)97 totalALS Basic Literacy Program31 totalALS A&E elementary41 totalALS A&E secondary357 total
Learners by grade and sex, SY 2024-25
Learners by grade and sex, SY 2024-25
GradeMaleFemaleTotal
Kindergarten1,1741,1222,296
Grade 11,5121,4582,970
Grade 21,5501,5473,097
Grade 31,4771,5553,032
Grade 41,4021,4412,843
Grade 51,4021,3302,732
Grade 61,4041,4182,822
Grade 71,5861,6953,281
Grade 81,5481,7923,340
Grade 91,3601,6342,994
Grade 101,2651,5822,847
Grade 111,6172,0193,636
Grade 121,5802,0283,608
Special needs, non-graded (elementary)574097
ALS Basic Literacy Program141731
ALS A&E elementary212041
ALS A&E secondary231126357
All grades19,20020,82440,024
Senior High School learners by track, SY 2024-25Academic5,698Technical-Vocational-Livelihood1,546
Senior High School learners by track, SY 2024-25
Senior High School learners by track, SY 2024-25
TrackLearners
Academic5,698
Technical-Vocational-Livelihood1,546
All tracks7,244
ALIVE (Arabic Language and Islamic Values Education) learners by level and sex, SY 2024-25
LevelMaleFemaleTotal
Kindergarten207193400
Elementary2,3802,5034,883
Junior High School1,2601,5522,812
All3,8474,2488,095
Indigenous peoples (IP) learners by level and sex, SY 2024-25
LevelMaleFemaleTotal
Kindergarten222042
Elementary156188344
Junior High School112738
Senior High School4610
All193241434
Learners in alternative delivery modes (ADM) by program and sex, SY 2024-25
ProgramMaleFemaleTotal
Other School-Initiated Intervention101

Schools and community learning centres

SY 2024-25: 44 schools and 5 community learning centres.

Schools and community learning centres by sector, SY 2024-25Public schools33Private schools8SUCs and LUCs3Community learning centres (ALS)5
Schools and community learning centres by sector, SY 2024-25
Schools and community learning centres by sector, SY 2024-25
SectorNumber
Public schools33
Private schools8
SUCs and LUCs3
Community learning centres (ALS)5
All49
Schools by curricular offering, SY 2024-25Elementary only33Junior high only3Junior and senior high6Senior high only2Community learning centres (ALS)5
Schools by curricular offering, SY 2024-25
Schools by curricular offering, SY 2024-25
OfferingNumber
Elementary only33
Junior high only3
Junior and senior high6
Senior high only2
Community learning centres (ALS)5
Schools by subclassification, SY 2024-25
SubclassificationNumber
DepEd managed33
Community learning centres (ALS)5
Sectarian5
Non-sectarian3
State universities and colleges3

School personnel

SY 2024-25: 805 teachers and 65 non-teaching personnel in public schools.

Public school personnel by type, SY 2024-25
TypeNumber
Teachers805
Non-teaching personnel65
All personnel870
Public school teachers by level, SY 2024-25Elementary609Junior High School173Senior High School23
Public school teachers by level, SY 2024-25
Public school teachers by level, SY 2024-25
LevelTeachers
Elementary609
Junior High School173
Senior High School23
All teachers805
Learners per teacher by level, public schools, SY 2024-25Elementary30.9Junior High School39.1Senior High School29.7
Learners per teacher by level, public schools, SY 2024-25
Learners per teacher by level, public schools, SY 2024-25
LevelLearners per teacher
Elementary30.9
Junior High School39.1
Senior High School29.7

School resources

SY 2024-25: 398 classrooms and 333 toilets in public schools.

Classrooms
398
Seats (approximate)
12,561
Toilets
333
Functional computers
877
Faucets
483
426 with water
Classrooms, seats, toilets and computers by level, public schools, SY 2024-25ElementaryJunior High SchoolSenior High SchoolClassrooms398 totalSeats (approximate)12,561 totalToilets333 totalFunctional computers877 total
Classrooms, seats, toilets and computers by level, public schools, SY 2024-25: shares of each by level
Classrooms, seats, toilets and computers by level, public schools, SY 2024-25, with learners per resource
MeasureElementaryJunior High SchoolSenior High School
Classrooms3097811
Learners per classroom60.986.762.1
Seats (approximate)8,3903,727444
Learners per seat2.21.81.5
Toilets298305
Learners per toilet63.2225.3136.6
Functional computers445231201
Learners per computer42.329.33.4
Public schools with a water supply, by level, SY 2024-25With water supplyWithoutElementary30 totalJunior High School3 totalSenior High School2 total
Public schools with a water supply, by level, SY 2024-25
Public schools with a water supply, by level, SY 2024-25: number of schools
LevelWith water supplyWithout
Elementary282
Junior High School30
Senior High School20
Public schools by electricity supply and level, SY 2024-25Grid supplyGrid and off-grid supplyNo electricity supplyElementary30 totalJunior High School3 totalSenior High School2 total
Public schools by electricity supply and level, SY 2024-25
Public schools by electricity supply and level, SY 2024-25: number of schools
LevelGrid supplyGrid and off-grid supplyNo electricity supply
Elementary2712
Junior High School300
Senior High School200
Public schools with internet access, by level, SY 2024-25With internet accessWithoutElementary30 totalJunior High School3 totalSenior High School2 total
Public schools with internet access, by level, SY 2024-25
Public schools with internet access, by level, SY 2024-25: number of schools
LevelWith internet accessWithout
Elementary723
Junior High School12
Senior High School02
Toilets in public schools by type, SY 2024-25Female95Male94Shared143For persons with disabilities1
Toilets in public schools by type, SY 2024-25
Toilets in public schools by type, SY 2024-25
TypeToilets
Female95
Male94
Shared143
For persons with disabilities1
All toilets333
Faucets in public schools, with and without water, SY 2024-25With water426Without water57
Faucets in public schools, with and without water, SY 2024-25
Faucets in public schools, with and without water, SY 2024-25
FaucetsNumber
With water426
Without water57
All faucets483
Public schools with each facility, SY 2024-25
FacilitySchools
Entrance Gate29
Exit Gate26
Permanent Perimeter Fence25
School Garden23
Playground17
Offices16
Computer Room13
Library/Learning Resource Center12
Covered Court10
Faculty Room8
Clinic7
Paved Pathway6
Supply Room5
Temporary Perimeter Fence5
Canteen4
Conference Room4
Home Economic Room4
Solar Panel3
Flood Marker2
Roofing2
Science Laboratory2
Student Co-Curricular Center2
Youth Development Center2
Data File Room/Records Room1

List of schools

Every school in Jolo (Capital), Sulu in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.

Schools in Jolo (Capital), Sulu: 44 schools, each with its own latest school year's figures
SchoolSectorLearnersTeachersClassrooms
Albert Benjamin Simpson Memorial School, Inc.Private348Not reportedNot reported
Asturias Elementary SchoolPublic335108
Bakud Central Elementary SchoolPublic1,1943429
Bus-Bus Elementary SchoolPublic22174
Camp Asturias Elementary SchoolPublic292145
Cirilo Bueno Sr. Elementary SchoolPublic734195
Dandan Ututalum Elementary SchoolPublic7282116
H.T. Abubakar Schuck Elementary SchoolPublic616167
Hadji Butu School Of Arts And TradesSUC or LUC2,336Not reportedNot reported
Hadji Gulamu Rasul Elem. SchoolPublic18780
Hadji Hassiman-Higad Elementary SchoolPublic6142010
Hamid Halim Elementary SchoolPublic5151610
Hj. Butu Elementary SchoolPublic340135
Hji Hassiman Elementary School LaudPublic830264
Imam Esmi Elementary SchoolPublic16793
Jati Elementary SchoolPublic1,0943513
Jolo Agricultural SchoolPublic1,1725522
Jolo National High SchoolPublic2,9697922
Jolo School of FisheriesPublic3,3026245
Kasanyangan Elementary SchoolPublic358158
Lambayong Elementary SchoolPublic8992816
Laud Lambayong Elementary SchoolPublic361113
Laum Alat Elementary SchoolPublic742158
Martirez Elementary SchoolPublic379135
Mindanao State UniversitySUC or LUC1,242Not reportedNot reported
Mohammad Tulawie Central Elementary SchoolPublic1,5874631
Muhammad Jajurie Elementary SchoolPublic386155
Notre Dame Of Jolo College, Inc.Private1,350Not reportedNot reported
Notre Dame Of Jolo For Girls - PatikulPrivate676Not reportedNot reported
Notre Dame Of Jolo High School KasulutanPrivate1,239Not reportedNot reported
Notre Dame of Jolo for GirlsPrivate514Not reportedNot reported
Port Area Elementary SchoolPublic9233615
Rasul Elementary SchoolPublic623212
Riverside Elementary SchoolPublic351139
Salih Ututalum Elementary SchoolPublic8042923
Salih Yusah Elementary SchoolPublic9252820
Serantes Elementary SchoolPublic347136
Sheik Mustafa Elementary SchoolPublic8342416
Southwestern Mindanao Islamic InstitutePrivate530Not reportedNot reported
Sulu College of Technology Inc.Private4,349Not reportedNot reported
Sulu International SchoolPrivate203Not reportedNot reported
Sulu Sped CenterPublic9272
Sulu State College Laboratory High ScoolSUC or LUC541Not reportedNot reported
Tanjung Elementary SchoolPublic1,3464721

DepEd's public report has teachers and classrooms for public schools only.

About this data

  • Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.

Each school year's figures for Jolo (Capital), Sulu count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25, refreshed 25 October 2025. How the data was checked

Report a correction to the figures for Jolo (Capital), Sulu