Skip to content

Schools in Tacloban City (Capital), Leyte

SY 2024-25 data from DepEd, refreshed 25 October 2025

Schools
97
No change from SY 2023-24
60 public, 35 private, 2 SUCs and LUCs
Community learning centres
23
Down 4 from SY 2023-24
Learners
67,212
Down 2,102 from SY 2023-24
Teachers
2,232
Up 74 from SY 2023-24
Classrooms
1,819
Up 39 from SY 2023-24

Learners

SY 2024-25: 67,212 learners, 65,913 in schools and 1,299 in community learning centres.

Learners, SY 2024-25
LearnersNumber
All learners67,212
In schools65,913
In community learning centres (ALS)1,299
Male33,959
Female33,184
Not broken down by sex69
Learners by level and sector, SY 2024-25 (at least)Public schoolsPrivate schoolsSUCs and LUCsCommunity learning centres (ALS)Elementary34,273 totalJunior High School19,546 totalSenior High School12,031 totalALS Basic Literacy Program45 totalALS A&E elementary302 totalALS A&E secondary946 total
Learners by level and sector, SY 2024-25: at least these numbers
Learners by level and sector, SY 2024-25: at least these numbers; 69 not broken down by level
LevelPublic schoolsPrivate schoolsSUCs and LUCsCommunity learning centres (ALS)Total
Elementary30,3723,568333034,273
Junior High School17,1042,074368019,546
Senior High School6,6495,214168012,031
ALS Basic Literacy Program0004545
ALS A&E elementary000302302
ALS A&E secondary000946946
Learners by grade and sex, SY 2024-25 (at least)MaleFemaleKindergarten3,940 totalGrade 14,597 totalGrade 24,750 totalGrade 35,042 totalGrade 45,592 totalGrade 54,792 totalGrade 65,360 totalGrade 75,470 totalGrade 84,483 totalGrade 94,826 totalGrade 104,747 totalGrade 116,120 totalGrade 125,911 totalSpecial needs, non-graded(elementary)200 totalSpecial needs, non-graded (juniorhigh)20 totalALS Basic Literacy Program45 totalALS A&E elementary302 totalALS A&E secondary946 total
Learners by grade and sex, SY 2024-25: at least these numbers
Learners by grade and sex, SY 2024-25: at least these numbers; 69 not broken down by grade
GradeMaleFemaleTotal
Kindergarten2,0071,9333,940
Grade 12,4342,1634,597
Grade 22,4682,2824,750
Grade 32,5662,4765,042
Grade 42,8852,7075,592
Grade 52,5242,2684,792
Grade 62,7032,6575,360
Grade 72,7612,7095,470
Grade 82,3352,1484,483
Grade 92,3812,4454,826
Grade 102,3562,3914,747
Grade 112,8863,2346,120
Grade 122,8003,1115,911
Special needs, non-graded (elementary)13961200
Special needs, non-graded (junior high)11920
ALS Basic Literacy Program261945
ALS A&E elementary194108302
ALS A&E secondary483463946
Broken down by grade33,95933,18467,143
Senior High School learners by track, SY 2024-25Academic9,037Technical-Vocational-Livelihood3,033
Senior High School learners by track, SY 2024-25
Senior High School learners by track, SY 2024-25
TrackLearners
Academic9,037
Technical-Vocational-Livelihood3,033
All tracks12,070
ALIVE (Arabic Language and Islamic Values Education) learners by level and sex, SY 2024-25
LevelMaleFemaleTotal
Kindergarten235
Elementary291847
Junior High School202
All332154
Indigenous peoples (IP) learners by level and sex, SY 2024-25
LevelMaleFemaleTotal
Kindergarten112
Elementary415
Junior High School11112
Senior High School011
All16420
Learners in alternative delivery modes (ADM) by program and sex, SY 2024-25
ProgramMaleFemaleTotal
Enhanced-Instructional Management by Parents, Community and teachers011
Open High School Program4610
All4711

Schools and community learning centres

SY 2024-25: 97 schools and 23 community learning centres.

Schools and community learning centres by sector, SY 2024-25Public schools60Private schools35SUCs and LUCs2Community learning centres (ALS)23
Schools and community learning centres by sector, SY 2024-25
Schools and community learning centres by sector, SY 2024-25
SectorNumber
Public schools60
Private schools35
SUCs and LUCs2
Community learning centres (ALS)23
All120
Schools by curricular offering, SY 2024-25Elementary only55Elementary and junior high (K to 10)6Kindergarten to Grade 1214Junior high only4Junior and senior high10Senior high only8Community learning centres (ALS)23
Schools by curricular offering, SY 2024-25
Schools by curricular offering, SY 2024-25
OfferingNumber
Elementary only55
Elementary and junior high (K to 10)6
Kindergarten to Grade 1214
Junior high only4
Junior and senior high10
Senior high only8
Community learning centres (ALS)23
Schools by subclassification, SY 2024-25
SubclassificationNumber
DepEd managed60
Community learning centres (ALS)23
Non-sectarian20
Sectarian15
State universities and colleges2

School personnel

SY 2024-25: 2,232 teachers and 272 non-teaching personnel in public schools.

Public school personnel by type, SY 2024-25
TypeNumber
Teachers2,232
Non-teaching personnel272
All personnel2,504
Public school teachers by level, SY 2024-25Elementary1,112Junior High School818Senior High School302
Public school teachers by level, SY 2024-25
Public school teachers by level, SY 2024-25
LevelTeachers
Elementary1,112
Junior High School818
Senior High School302
All teachers2,232
Learners per teacher by level, public schools, SY 2024-25Elementary27.3Junior High School20.9Senior High School22
Learners per teacher by level, public schools, SY 2024-25
Learners per teacher by level, public schools, SY 2024-25
LevelLearners per teacher
Elementary27.3
Junior High School20.9
Senior High School22.0

School resources

SY 2024-25: 1,819 classrooms and 2,339 toilets in public schools.

Classrooms
1,819
Seats (approximate)
54,781
Toilets
2,339
Functional computers
4,019
Faucets
3,883
2,549 with water
Classrooms, seats, toilets and computers by level, public schools, SY 2024-25ElementaryJunior High SchoolSenior High SchoolClassrooms1,819 totalSeats (approximate)54,781 totalToilets2,339 totalFunctional computers4,019 total
Classrooms, seats, toilets and computers by level, public schools, SY 2024-25: shares of each by level
Classrooms, seats, toilets and computers by level, public schools, SY 2024-25, with learners per resource
MeasureElementaryJunior High SchoolSenior High School
Classrooms1,030585204
Learners per classroom29.529.232.6
Seats (approximate)30,46317,4666,852
Learners per seat1.01.01.0
Toilets1,324750265
Learners per toilet22.922.825.1
Functional computers1,8401,502677
Learners per computer16.511.49.8
Public schools with a water supply, by level, SY 2024-25With water supplyWithoutElementary47 totalJunior High School17 totalSenior High School10 total
Public schools with a water supply, by level, SY 2024-25
Public schools with a water supply, by level, SY 2024-25: number of schools
LevelWith water supplyWithout
Elementary470
Junior High School170
Senior High School100
Public schools by electricity supply and level, SY 2024-25Grid supplyGrid and off-grid supplyElementary47 totalJunior High School17 totalSenior High School10 total
Public schools by electricity supply and level, SY 2024-25
Public schools by electricity supply and level, SY 2024-25: number of schools
LevelGrid supplyGrid and off-grid supply
Elementary452
Junior High School170
Senior High School100
Public schools with internet access, by level, SY 2024-25With internet accessWithoutElementary47 totalJunior High School17 totalSenior High School10 total
Public schools with internet access, by level, SY 2024-25
Public schools with internet access, by level, SY 2024-25: number of schools
LevelWith internet accessWithout
Elementary434
Junior High School161
Senior High School100
Toilets in public schools by type, SY 2024-25Female557Male436Shared1,199For persons with disabilities147
Toilets in public schools by type, SY 2024-25
Toilets in public schools by type, SY 2024-25
TypeToilets
Female557
Male436
Shared1,199
For persons with disabilities147
All toilets2,339
Faucets in public schools, with and without water, SY 2024-25With water2,549Without water1,334
Faucets in public schools, with and without water, SY 2024-25
Faucets in public schools, with and without water, SY 2024-25
FaucetsNumber
With water2,549
Without water1,334
All faucets3,883
Public schools with each facility, SY 2024-25
FacilitySchools
Entrance Gate60
Offices54
School Garden51
Exit Gate46
Temporary Perimeter Fence43
Library/Learning Resource Center36
Computer Room33
Playground33
Clinic29
Paved Pathway22
Covered Court19
Faculty Room17
Permanent Perimeter Fence16
Solar Panel16
Supply Room15
Data File Room/Records Room13
Roofing13
Conference Room11
Home Economic Room10
Science Laboratory10
Canteen8
Student Co-Curricular Center7
Flood Marker4
Youth Development Center3
Gymnasium2
Industrial Arts Room2
Museum1
Speech Laboratory1

List of schools

Every school in Tacloban City (Capital), Leyte in DepEd's data, linked to its own page.

Schools in Tacloban City (Capital), Leyte: 97 schools, each with its own latest school year's figures
SchoolSectorLearnersTeachersClassrooms
Abe International College Of Business And Economics-Tacloban CityPrivate72Not reportedNot reported
Aclc College Of Tacloban CityPrivate2,431Not reportedNot reported
Alpha-Omega Learning Center of Tacloban City Inc.Private56Not reportedNot reported
Ama Computer College - Tacloban City, Inc.Private60Not reportedNot reported
Anibong Elementary SchoolPublic401190
Antonia Vargas Salino School Foundatin, Inc.Private26Not reportedNot reported
Antonio Balmes National High SchoolPublic2751210
Arc Angelus Civitas School, Inc.PrivateNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Asian Development Foundation CollegePrivate460Not reportedNot reported
B. Bulante Elementary SchoolPublic3471510
Bagacay Elementary SchoolPublic6022117
Basper Elementary SchoolPublic2951211
Bayanihan Elementary SchoolPublic5361914
Bliss Elementary SchoolPublic3691515
Cabalawan Elementary SchoolPublic4331715
Caibaan Elementary SchoolPublic7722924
Camansihay Elementary SchoolPublic5631712
Cambridge Center For International Studies - Ev Phils., Inc. (Cie)Private172Not reportedNot reported
Cirilo Roy Montejo National High SchoolPublic1,2317029
City Central SchoolPublic7602628
Colegio de la Salle Fondation de Tacloban, Inc.Private146Not reportedNot reported
Don Vicente Quintero Memorial SchoolPublic4842219
Dr. Ap Banez Memorial SchoolPublic4832122
Dr. V. Orestes Romualdez Educational Foundation, Inc.Private770Not reportedNot reported
Eastern Visayas State UniversitySUC or LUC302Not reportedNot reported
Fisherman's Village Elementary SchoolPublic21889
Five Holy Founders Learning Center, Inc.Private19Not reportedNot reported
Genesis Learning Institute of Eastern Visayas, Inc.Private32Not reportedNot reported
Genesis Learning Institute of Eastern Visayas, Inc. - Kassel CityPrivate11Not reportedNot reported
Greendale Residences Integrated SchoolPublic5742114
Guadalupe Heights Integrated SchoolPublic1,7156283
Holy Infant College of Tacloban City, Inc.Private352Not reportedNot reported
Holy Virgin of Salvacion School, Inc.Private325Not reportedNot reported
Je Mondejar Computer CollegePrivate346Not reportedNot reported
Judge Antonio R. Montilla, Sr. Elementary SchoolPublic6132422
Kapangian Central SchoolPublic1,1133938
Kapuso Village Integrated SchoolPublic1,3784644
Leysam Baptist AcademyPrivate29Not reportedNot reported
Leyte CollegesPrivate39Not reportedNot reported
Leyte National High SchoolPublic9,104401221
Leyte Normal University - IlsSUC or LUC567Not reportedNot reported
Leyte Progressive High SchoolPrivate219Not reportedNot reported
Liceo del Verbo DivinoPrivate1,207Not reportedNot reported
Lorenzo Daa Memorial SchoolPublic16488
Lucio Vivero Central SchoolPublic7592423
MSH Sisters Academy of Tacloban, Inc.Private68Not reportedNot reported
Manlurip Elementary SchoolPublic4081610
Maranatha Christian Academy of Tacloban, Inc.Private80Not reportedNot reported
Marasbaras Central SchoolPublic8563119
Marasbaras National High SchoolPublic6223827
Mercyville Elementary SchoolPublic5631911
New Hope Elementary SchoolPublic5371914
North Hill Arbours Integrated SchoolPublic1,2823968
Northern Tacloban City National High SchoolPublic1,9436364
Nula Tula Elementary SchoolPublic3911613
Old Kawayan Elementary SchoolPublic6663
PHCCI MPC Tacloban Academy Inc.Private181Not reportedNot reported
Palanog Elementary SchoolPublic7432925
Palanog Resettlement Elementary SchoolPublic4951816
Panalaron Central SchoolPublic3882124
Remedios T. Romualdez Elementary SchoolPublic4962226
Ridge View Park Integrated SchoolPublic1,4755283
Rizal Central SchoolPublic1,7685952
Sacred Heart SchoolPrivate367Not reportedNot reported
Sagkahan Central SchoolPublic1,4634757
Sagkahan National High SchoolPublic2,87812383
Saint Joseph Freinademetz Sch., Inc.Private21Not reportedNot reported
Salvacion Elementary SchoolPublic3851512
San Fernando Central SchoolPublic1,0615047
San Jose Central SchoolPublic2,0927387
San Jose National High SchoolPublic1,7319561
San Roque Elementary SchoolPublic13379
Scandinavian Elementary SchoolPublic3441412
Scandinavian National High SchoolPublic5402925
St. Bridget Learning Center of Tacloban City Inc.Private18Not reportedNot reported
St. Francis Elementary SchoolPublic5382019
St. Therese Christian Development Center Foundation, Inc.Private510Not reportedNot reported
St. Therese Educational Foundation Of Tacloban, Inc.Private1,709Not reportedNot reported
Sta. Elena Elementary SchoolPublic18898
Sto. Nino Elementary SchoolPublic17087
Sto. Nino Senior High SchoolPublic4132119
Sto. Nino Sped CenterPublic1,3244237
Summit Integrated Learning Academy, Inc.Private181Not reportedNot reported
Tacloban Angelicum Learning CenterPrivate446Not reportedNot reported
Tacloban Central Institute of Technical Studies, Inc.Private44Not reportedNot reported
Tacloban City Adventist Elem. School (Sagkahan Adventist Multigrade)Private166Not reportedNot reported
Tacloban City National High SchoolPublic1,4197734
Tacloban City Night High SchoolPublic2292812
Tacloban Grace Baptist Educational Foundation Inc.Private89Not reportedNot reported
Tacloban Institute of ElectronicsPrivate198Not reportedNot reported
Tacloban National Agricultural SchoolPublic8445030
Tacloban United Christian School, Inc.Private41Not reportedNot reported
Tagpuro Elementary SchoolPublic386169
Tigbao-Diit Central SchoolPublic7073026
Utap Elementary SchoolPublic4901914
V & G Memorial SchoolPublic1,1203834
V&G National High SchoolPublic4762534

DepEd's public report has teachers and classrooms for public schools only.

About this data

  • 69 learners in SY 2024-25 are counted in the totals but not broken down by grade, level or sex, so those charts show at least these numbers.
  • Teachers, classrooms and facilities are for public schools only: DepEd's public report has them for no other schools.

Each school year's figures for Tacloban City (Capital), Leyte count the schools DepEd placed there that year. Figures come from DepEd's school data for SY 2023-24 and SY 2024-25, refreshed 25 October 2025. How the data was checked

Report a correction to the figures for Tacloban City (Capital), Leyte